Prompt #31: First Day

Tell us about your first day at something — school, work, as a parent, etc.

For me at least, it seems like first days at every place are alike. Not so much for work as you get older, but especially school.

I have mentioned that I started my first year of college last fall, August 2022 after a 7 year break. To me, it seems like its always the same: tell people about yourself and tell them why you are there. After introductions, for a week there are still introductions to different classes with different teachers. A lot of requirements for freshmen to participate in. To me it just felt a little like being back in high school because I was already set in my ways in how I did things. After switching to online after the MS diagnosis, I am taking a break as I get adjusted to a new treatment. But in all honesty, I don’t know if I will go back after that realization of similarities to high school.

Why they make degrees required for some jobs, I wonder when people can just be trained on the job. When did that become a requirement for some of them? Just a side thought for that one.


Posted

in

by

Comments

Leave a comment