Unsubscribe

If one has not heard, on Sunday (Feb 11th-yesterday at the time of doing this post), there was a shooting at Joel Osteen’s church in Houston, TX.

The first article I saw about it didn’t really give many details other than active scene that police were at-one was dead, and two were injured. If I remember correctly from that first article, I think the shooter was dead and there was an older man that was injured as well as a child. From this new article, it looks like the child was brought into the building with the shooter. Why? I don’t know. I do know the child was one of the injured victims and is in critical condition. His relationship with the shooter was not shared.

From what I did read the shooter was an illegal immigrant, a transgender person, with a criminal background. So one could only guess that the relationship with the shooter and the child was not good. It ties in to a previous post I did: no child should ever have to ask if someone is a friendly.

This is the second time I have seen his church be mentioned only a few months apart I believe it is. The other being that protesters showed up in the middle of a service and disrupted it in an…embarrassing way lets just say.

I have personally never been to Joel Osteen’s church and I haven’t listened to all of his teaching, but from what I have heard, I have liked and agreed with. When it comes to people that I follow-be it politically or as a pastor-I am very picky. If someone recommends someone else to listen to, I’ll listen to a message or two before doing some research into their ministry’s background or the politician’s background. If a red flag comes up, I won’t follow. One thing I will agree with Governor Abbott on on what I saw he said about the attack: places of worship are sacred. I would even go further to say that there is a time and a place for protesting, don’t do it on church building property in the middle of a service.

I know there are many out there who have not agreed with his teaching. But that doesn’t mean do acts like this. Some may call it a hate crime, some may not. I would definitely call this most recent act yesterday a hate crime. It is just as easy to unsubscribe from someone you don’t like as it is to hit subscribe. I like his teaching, I don’t listen to him all the time, and I haven’t felt called to be a member of his church if that makes sense.

If its something you don’t agree with, hit unsubscribe.

If this isn’t seen as a hate crime after the protesters a few months ago, I would be surprised. But a “hate crime” is one of those phrases that annoy me now because it has been used far too much in some situations that it has lost its original meaning.


Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

Leave a comment