Generational Breakthroughs

I have talked some praise about Joel Osteen and his teaching since the attack at his church the other weekend. One thing I will say is that he doesn’t really have the people in the congregation use the Bible to see for themselves if what he is saying is accurate. That’s one way he teaches, maybe the only way he teaches, that I don’t agree with. A lot of what he does say though, tie in to things I have heard over the years that I have agreed with. What this post will be about is a message he did recently on generational breakthroughs. (Even if you haven’t really listened to his messages before, this is one I do recommend listening to.

When I was first diagnosed with multiple sclerosis (MS), I had been asked if anyone in the family had had it. Or when I was told there were similar diseases that can mimic MS, I was asked if anyone in the family had any of them. I had to ask both my mom and dad (biological dad, obviously, not the stepdad) if they knew of anyone. I asked the doctor how often that happened, and asked how someone could get something like MS if it was not a generational curse. I had an uncle (my mom’s brother) who had diabetes, but he said that it was caused more by his alcohol problem, and I don’t drink alcohol of any kind. I’ve had sips just to try it if it as offered by family, but never a whole drink because I didn’t like it if that makes sense.

In a message that I listened to, he did talk about generational breakthroughs. While I do agree there are generational curses, I do believe that they don’t have to be passed down from generation to generation. It has to do with the way that we are raised, the way that we think, and the words that we speak. The words that we speak about something have the most affect on something happening or not happening. I’ve never considered myself to be superstitious about things like crossing a sidewalk if a black cat is there. I think superstition is a mind game because what one constantly thinks about, they eventually speak it and believe it.

If one read Deuteronomy 28 in the Old Testament, they would read about a difference between a blessing from the Lord and a curse. One thing some need to realize is that a curse isn’t from God-it is not in His will that any of us should get something like diabetes or even MS. In His will only blessing for His people is found, not cursing. One thing I’ve heard is that if bad things happen to good people, they made stupid decisions somewhere in life. They heard correction, but didn’t follow it. I think believing in generational curses would fall into that category.

Since I was diagnosed with MS, I have been believing for healing. I haven’t had any new or relapsing symptoms that I can remember since March 2023, which I am thankful for. But since the diagnosis in November 2022, I haven’t fallen from the church or dared to blame God for it. I’ve been pissed about the timing for the diagnosis, but not at God, because MS is part of the curse and interrupted plans I had for my future. It has been a year, I haven’t done any new scans, but I am still believing and doing treatment for MS until I feel that it is time. When I talked to a doctor about it since it was not in the family, I was told that MS is one that can just appear at random; if it can do that, it can also go away.

The point behind this that I am trying to make I guess is that even if it has been passed down through the family, any one family member can be the one to say that they do not accept it and stand against it. This post probably did not make much sense as I was hoping it would, but I would recommend doing one’s own research on it if they think they might have something that someone in the family has had more than once before.


Posted

in

by

Comments

Leave a comment